Winter Collision

Gina Clingan
1 min readDec 2, 2020
Photo by Kacper Szczechla on Unsplash

The sky was falling
the day
you crashed in to my life.
Large pieces fell
like white flags
in the streetlights
and collected on my windowsill.
It was as if
the sky wanted me to know
it was safe to surrender-
to open the window
and let you in.

So I did.

You had me
dreaming of snow angels
and talking to God on a daily basis.
I never told you this but
I prayed a lot when you were around.
Thanking God
because
you were a beautiful chapter
and I appreciated every single page.

You left the same way you came
and I may have slammed the window shut behind you,
but it has never been latched.

And now
I keep the window open

just a crack
during the first snowfall of the season.
A part of me hopes
just maybe
it will bring you back to me.

You’ll come in with the storm;

Just follow the ice crystals
collecting on my carpet.

© Gina Clingan 2017

From my book, Redford, which can be purchased here

--

--